Email: registry_vrs@email.com |

Fax: (619) 460-4714 |

Office: (619) 460-4717

News

Text Messaging Law:

The new Wireless Communications Device Law (effective January 1, 2009) makes it an infraction to write, send, or read text-based communication on an electronic wireless communications device, such as a cell phone, while driving a motor vehicle.  


Cellular Phone Law:

Two additional laws dealing with the use of wireless telephones while driving went into effect July 1, 2008. The first law prohibits all drivers from using a handheld wireless telephone while operating a motor vehicle, (California Vehicle Code [VC] §23123). Motorists 18 and over may use a “hands-free device. The second law effective July 1, 2008, prohibits drivers under the age of 18 from using a wireless telephone or hands-free device while operating a motor vehicle (VC §23124).


Unlicensed Car Dealers:

Amend: Vehicle Code §22651 (AB 2042 Chapter No. 736)

This new law allows law enforcement officers to impound vehicles that are being sold by unlicensed dealers.


Recreational Vehicle Agreement:

Amend and Add: Vehicle Code §§11713.22, 331.3, and 11713.23 (AB 2436 Chapter No. 743) This law requires a written and signed agreement between Recreation Vehicle Dealers and manufactures prior to selling vehicles in California.


Counterfeit Clean Air Stickers:

Amend: Vehicle Code § 4463 (SB 1720 Chapter No.  417) This new law will make it a crime to forge, counterfeit, or falsify a Clean Air Sticker. These stickers are currently issued by DMV to certain low emission vehicles and permit vehicles with these stickers to be driven in the HOV lane.


New Special Interest Plate:

Amend: Vehicle Code §§5156 and 5157 (AB 1455 Chapter No. 309) A new “Gold Star Family” special interest license will be available to family members of individuals killed in the line of duty while serving in the Armed Forces during wartime or military operations.


Online Voter Registration:

This bill requires the Secretary of State to obtain the digitized signatures from the DMV for verifying online voter registration.


Cash For Clunkers Program:

The CAR Allowance Rebate System (CARS) READ MORE

Temporary Operating Permits:

Amend and Add: Vehicle Code §4156, 9257.5 (AB 2241 Chapter No. 451) This law restricts DMV from issuing temporary operating permits to allow more time to obtain a smog certificate as part of the registration renewal process. Under the law, extensions will cost $50 and are only allowed if the vehicle has been tested at a smog station and failed. The extension can be for no more than 60 days from the date registration is due. The $50 fee will be waived for owners accepted into the Bureau of Automotive Repair Consumer Assistance Program (CAP).


Special License Plate:

Add: Vehicle Code § 22511.3 (AB 190 Chapter No. 588) This new law, when approved by local authorities, allows veterans whose vehicles display plates honoring Pearl Harbor Survivors, Legion of Valor recipients, former American Prisoners of War, Congressional Medal of Honor recipients, or Purple Heart recipients to park their vehicles that weigh not more than 6,000 pounds gross weight, without charge, in any metered parking space.


Motorcycle Definition:

Amend: Vehicle Code §§400 and 21714 (AB 2272 Chapter No. 672) This new law changes the definition of a motorcycle, deleting the existing weight limitation of 1500 pounds. It also removes a separate definition for electrically-powered vehicles. This change in law will also allow drivers of fully-enclosed 3-wheeled motor vehicles to use the High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) lanes.


Vehicle Parking Fees:

Amend: Vehicle Code §§4760, 4770, 40210, 40220, 40222, 40265, 40267, and 40269 (AB 2401 Chapter No. 741) This law prohibits the Department or a processing agency from collecting outstanding parking fees and penalties from the registered owner of a vehicle if that owner was not the registered owner, lessee, or person in control of the vehicle when a parking citation was issued.


DMV Offices Closed:

The Department of Motor Vehicles reminds customers that all statewide offices will be closed on the first three Fridays of each month through June 2010


California DMV Website:

Find out all the latest information directly on the DMV website